Lemonade, Trupanion and Healthy Paws are three of the best-known pet insurers in the U.S., and they are built differently. One uses a deductible you pay once per condition, one resets it each year, and one lets you add wellness packages in a few clicks. This comparison uses what each company states on its own website, so you can see where they differ before you ask for a quote.
Information checked October 13, 2026 on each insurer’s public website. Trupanion’s comparison page says its information was current as of February 28, 2023, so treat the Trupanion details as older and confirm them. Terms, prices and availability change by state, so read the policy before you buy. Sources are listed at the end.
At a Glance
| Lemonade | Trupanion | Healthy Paws | |
|---|---|---|---|
| How you are paid | Reimbursement: you pay the vet, then claim in the app | Direct payment at participating hospitals, which needs the hospital’s software | Reimbursement, with an optional Direct Pay to your vet. Says most claims are paid in about two days |
| Deductible | Applied to claims (options not listed on its pet page) | Per condition, and met once in the pet’s lifetime | Annual, resetting on the policy anniversary. Example on its site: $250 |
| Reimbursement rate | Not listed on its pet page | Not stated on its comparison page | Choices up to 90% |
| Annual limit | Not listed on its pet page | States unlimited payouts | You choose a limit, including a no-payout-limit option |
| Waiting periods | 14 days for illness, 30 days for orthopedic conditions | 5 days for injury, 30 days for illness | Not stated on its home page |
| Enrollment age | Not listed on its pet page | Up to age 14 | Plans for pets 8 weeks to 1 year, and 1 year and older |
| Wellness | Preventive packages, no deductible or waiting period | Not mentioned | Points to a separate wellness plan |
| Discounts | 10% bundle, 5% multi-pet, 5% annual payment | Not listed | Not listed |
Lemonade: Customizable and App-First
Lemonade works on reimbursement: you pay the vet, file a claim in the app and are repaid to your bank account, after your deductible and coinsurance. It lists 14-day waiting periods for illness and 30 days for orthopedic conditions, and its optional preventive packages cover routine care such as wellness exams, up to three vaccines, routine dental cleaning and flea, tick or heartworm medication. The page states that a condition with signs before the waiting periods end counts as pre-existing. It is a good fit for owners who want to build a plan from options, and who are comfortable paying first.
Trupanion: Per-Condition Deductible and Unlimited Payouts
Trupanion describes “per-condition deductibles that you only have to meet once in your pet’s lifetime”, states unlimited payouts, and says it will enroll pets up to age 14. It also says there are “no rate increases just because your pet has a birthday.” That last line is a marketing claim, and it does not mean the price never changes. Direct payment at checkout is available only at hospitals that use Trupanion’s software, so confirm your vet participates. Because its deductible is per condition, it tends to suit pets with a chronic problem, and owners who want a high or unlimited limit.
Healthy Paws: Simple Terms and a Choice of Limits
Healthy Paws offers up to 90% reimbursement, an annual deductible that resets on your pet’s enrollment anniversary, and a choice of annual limits that includes no payout limit. Its site says most claims are processed within two days. It states that it covers new accidents and illnesses and not pre-existing conditions. For waiting periods and price changes with age, its home page does not give details, so check the policy.
Why Per-Condition vs. Annual Deductibles Matter
This is an illustration with generic numbers, not an actual quote from any insurer. A pet has a chronic condition costing $2,000 a year for three years. The plan reimburses 80% and the deductible is $250.
| Year | You pay with an annual deductible | You pay with a once-per-condition deductible |
|---|---|---|
| Year 1 | $250 + 20% of $1,750 = $600 | $250 + 20% of $1,750 = $600 |
| Year 2 | $600 | 20% of $2,000 = $400 |
| Year 3 | $600 | $400 |
| Total | $1,800 | $1,400 |
The $400 difference is the deductible paid twice more. For a pet with no ongoing problems the difference disappears. For the full explanation, see annual vs. per-incident deductibles.
Which One Fits Which Situation
- You want to adjust coverage and add routine care: Lemonade’s preventive packages and discounts are the most flexible of the three, as long as you are fine paying the vet first.
- Your pet has, or is likely to have, a long-term condition: A once-per-condition deductible and an unlimited limit are the features that help, and Trupanion states both.
- You want a straightforward plan with a choice of limits: Healthy Paws offers up to 90% reimbursement and a range of limits.
Also read our guide to plans with no payout limits, waiting periods and reimbursement vs. direct pay.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is cheapest? It depends on your pet’s age, breed and location, and on the deductible, reimbursement rate and limit you choose. The only way to compare is to quote the same settings on each. Our cheapest companies guide explains how.
Do any of them cover pre-existing conditions? No. Lemonade and Healthy Paws say pre-existing conditions are not covered, and Trupanion’s page refers to pre-existing exclusions in the policy.
Can I switch later? Yes, but a new insurer will treat anything your pet already has as pre-existing. See how pre-existing conditions work.
The Bottom Line
The three insurers differ most in how the deductible works, how you are paid and how limits are set. Decide which of those matters for your pet, quote all three with the same settings, and read the waiting periods and exclusions in the actual policy before you buy.
Sources
- Lemonade, Lemonade Pet, accessed October 13, 2026.
- Trupanion, Pet insurance comparison, accessed October 13, 2026 (page cites information as of February 28, 2023).
- Healthy Paws, Healthy Paws pet insurance, accessed October 13, 2026.
This article is general information, not insurance advice, and we are not affiliated with any insurer. Details come from each company’s own public statements and may have changed.